DX2010 Photos
All photos by Dave VE7VR


Jim Smith VE7FO presents the Pacific Northwest Club Challenge trophy to Brad Wallingford K7ZSD, accepting on behalf of the 2009-2010 Challenge-winning Willamette Valley DX Club.

Duane Sandmeyer VE7UF (left) received one of the grand prizes -- a new Icom IC756ProIII -- from Icom Canada representative Paul Veel VE7PVL. The new radio will be a great addition to the VE7UF multi-op contest station at home in Comox, BC.

Dick Moen N7RO (right) won a new Yaesu FT-2000, presented by Dennis Motschenbacher K7BV, Yaesu's Executive Vice President for Amateur Radio Sales in North America.

Dick also won two other grand prizes (yes, almost a complete station!), taking home an AlfaSpid RAK rotator courtesy of Alpha Radio, and a two-element SteppIR antenna courtesy of SteppIR Antennas Inc.

The inimitable Ward Silver N0AX, editor of the ARRL Amateur Radio Operator's Handbook and many other publications including the ARRL Contest Update newsletter, spoke at the convention.

Ward was in the process of moving from Vachon Island near Seattle in the Pacific Northwest to his old stomping grounds in Missouri, so received a parting gift of PNW blackberry cane --to show everyone in the Show-Me State.

Checking in was a breeze with two registration whizzes at the table -- Dave Shipman VA7AM (left) and John White VE7JW handled the daunting task of organizing registration packs for more than 120 attendees.

The host BCDX Club owes huge thanks for the success of the DX2010 convention to Marcia Lawrie, who admirably handled much of the logistics of the convention -- and was especially busy during the weekend keeping the many prize draws in order.


  ... to the DX2010 Convention home page

Last modified Sept. 12, 2010 by Bud VA7ST